Privacy

Where is my writing kept?

Your writing is encrypted and kept on your device, in your browser storage. It is never sent by this website to any other device or server.

Who can read it?

Other people with access to your device can read what you write, if you do not lock your writing. I recommend locking your writing by setting a passphrase and, optionally, a passkey (e.g., Face ID) here. With the lock on, your writing auto-locks after 15 minutes of inactivity on this site, or when you close all of this site’s tabs. You can change that timing here.

How could I lose it?

Your writing will be lost if:

  1. You are writing in a private browser tab.
  2. You clear your browser’s data.
  3. You are writing on Safari on an iPhone, iPad or Mac and don’t interact with this site for seven days.1

If you lock your writing and lose your passphrase (and, if you have one, your passkey), you will permanently lose your writing. There is no way for you or me to recover writing without the passphrase or passkey.

How do I back it up or move it?

You can export a copy of all of your writing with the export button at the bottom of the site. You can later import that exported writing using the import button. You can import either on the device you exported from or on another device. You need a passphrase for the website to export (if you don’t have one yet, your first export sets one up); you will not be able to read or import an export without the passphrase.

How do I delete it?

You can delete all writing currently stored in your browser here. Browsers can keep traces of data for a while even after deletion.

What about this setup might change?

I plan to implement cloud storage and syncing of your writing. This will be opt-in and encrypted by your passphrase. I will never be able to read your writing, even if it is stored in the cloud; your writing is always encrypted there and therefore unreadable without the passphrase or passkey.

Footnotes

  1. You can add this site to your home screen on iPhone by following these instructions. If you do, what you write after navigating to this site from the home screen will be separate from what you write in the regular browser and will not get automatically deleted after seven days without accessing the site. ↩

Unlock your writing

Enter your passphrase.

Export your writing

Save a file with all the writing in this browser. It's encrypted with your passphrase, and you'll need the passphrase to import it.

Import your writing

Import using your passphrase. If an entry was worked on two devices, the latest edit will be applied.